Posted by: darcieczajkowski | November 6, 2012

Weekend Goodies.

Happy Monday!  That, right there, is an oxymoron.  There is nothing good about Monday, except perhaps what I’m having for dinner tonight and the fact that because of all of my weekend excitement or the suddenly extremely hot NOVEMBER weather, I have sore throat which means I have a perfectly acceptable excuse not to work out.

You’ll have to wait until tomorrow for tonight’s dinner details, but here is my weekend in a nutshell.

Friday night was my boyfriend’s birthday.  Actually, his birthday was Sunday, but we started the celebration Friday night.  He called it a date night, but in reality, it was his birthday dinner because I paid.  I had heard amazing reviews from friends about Le Papagayo.  It lived up to its expectations both in terms of food and the live music.

Image

(Yes, my hair is again in a top knot.  In one word: obsessed.)

Image

Here is the birthday boy, forced smile and all.

Image

He was happier once I stopped taking pictures and finally let him eat his food which was Kobe beef sliders, spicy macadamia calamari, shrimp, scallops, crab, and mushrooms in some special sauce.  Food.  Heaven.  To drink ,we had sangria, which was probably most definitely the best I’ve ever had.  Oh, and that green stuff at the bottom of the picture?  Pesto dipping sauce for the loaf of bread we ingested between the two of us.  Ugh.

If you live in San Diego or when you come to visit (you should come right now – remember the weather?), your first stop should be this restaurant.  Boyfriend went home happy.

Unfortunately, his happiness was short-lived because I forced him awake at 6:30 am on Saturday morning for THE COLOR RUN.  If you live in one of these cities, you should do it!  Help a charity (various between cities – San Diego was Big Brothers-Big Sisters), get sprayed with paint, get in some early Saturday morning cardio.  It’s a win-win-win.

Disclaimer: You could easily dodge the paint-spraying.  Or more accurately, you had to seek out the paint sprayers. Sorry, but I think if you register for this race, you should NOT be able to avoid getting sprayed.  Second, more music was needed.  I don’t enjoy running and I’m pretty sure 99.9% of the people doing this “race” (the rest of my team told me that this can’t be considered a real race since it’s not timed) aren’t runners either.  We need motivational music, people!

My team consisted of my boyfriend, my cousin, and a friend.  Here we are – pumped up before the race.

Image

Image

Image

And here is the damage.

Image

ImageImageImage

Doesn’t get much sexier than this, people.

Image

Disappointed with the lack of paint covering every crevice of our bodies, we had to take matters into our own hands.

Image

What do to post-run?  Bottomless mimosas, duh.

Image

Image

Yes, this happened.

Then I took a five-hour nap.

When I woke up, I had to pull myself together for the main event: Boyfriend’s birthday party at my casa.

Image

He got a cake courtesy of my friend, Megan.  The candles were also courtesy of her thanks to this conversation.

Me: Hey, Boyfriend wanted me to invite you to his birthday party Saturday night.  You interested?

Megan: Yeah, I’ll be there.  Is he turning 22 this year?

Me: Haha, good one.

These are the jokes you deal with when you are dating an older woman.

He was a good sport, though.

Image

Then this happened.  Hehe.

Image

On the third day (his actual birthday), we rested.  Waffles and turkey bacon for dinner were necessary.  Then I passed out on the couch around 8 p.m.  Oldlady, who?

Leave a Reply

Categories

