Posted by: darcieczajkowski | November 20, 2012

Monday Blues.

Do you have the blues today?  I do, thanks to the much-needed mommy and me weekend I just had.  Two full days with my mom, shopping, eating, drinking wine, and soaking up every morsel of love and attention she threw my way. I’ve always been very close to my mom (think Lorelai and Rory on Gilmore Girls), but even though she lives in the same city as I do, I don’t see her as often as I’d like.  But last weekend, with my dad and the boyfriend out of town, the stars were aligned for the perfect mommy and me weekend.

My mom is where my love of cooking comes from so naturally we made banana bread for breakfast on Sunday.

Image

Image

Then we dunked the bread in an egg mixture and made french toast.  Duh.

Image

Result: the most delicious banana bread french toast.  Ever.

Then in between courses meals, we drank this.  My mom’s favorite wine.  Ever.  Tastes like juice which is horrible (because it slides right down) and delightful (because it slides right down) all at the same time.

Once the bottle was gone, we ate this.

Image

Butternut squash mac and cheese.  With bacon.

Then we were belly up on the couch.  And I declared it one of the best mommy and me weekends of all time.

So now you can see why my Monday was infinitely worse than usual because nothing compares to time with Mom.  Boo hoo hoo.

P.S.: What are your favorite mommy and me activities?

Leave a Reply

Categories

