Posted by: darcieczajkowski | November 28, 2012

Antigua, Guatemala

My September trip to Guatemala was much-needed.  I try to travel somewhere internationally every year, but last year I just couldn’t get away from work.  So it had been two years since my journey Down Under post-bar exam, and I was itching to get out of the country. 

This trip was unlike any other before for several reasons.  It was the first time I traveled internationally with the boyfriend (other than to visit his family in Mexico in May) and we were together for nine days straight.  Would I survive?  I thought we would be fine, but I do believe that you learn a lot about someone when you travel with them. 

One thing I learned about him: His Spanish-speaking abilities are a God-send.  After traveling extensively in Central and South America with only my paltry skills, it was such a relief to have some all of the pressure off of me.

One thing he learned about me: I need a hot shower preferably every day, but at least every other day.  Or I get cranky.

Other than that, we glided through the nine days together in almost-perfect harmony, and at the end of the nine days, I wasn’t ready to part ways…even after an old man died on our flight home (NO JOKE) and we were forced to make an emergency landing in Guadalajara, Mexico.  After all that, we still like each other.  I hope that is a good omen for our future together.

The other way this trip was different than anything I’d experienced before is that we spent a lot of time visiting the boyfriend’s friends.  It was so relaxing to spend time with (new-to-me) friends while simultaneously exploring a new country and experiencing a new culture. 

The boyfriend’s friend picked us up from the airport in Guatemala City, where we then celebrated her birthday. 

Image

The next day, we traveled with some of her friends to Antigua.  Here are a few photos from the picturesque town.  The food was delicious, the mountains in the background were breath-taking, and the cobblestone streets and Central Park were charming. 

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Check back soon for photos from the next city we visited: Monterrico, Guatemala

 


Leave a Reply

Categories

